I think I've sent out 30 resumes and still no bites. Is it the recession or is Alb just not in the mood for hiring? Then again, journalists are hard to market these days but even the public relations firms don't seem to be interested.

Sorry guys, guess I'm not really looking for responses here, just needed to post a gripe. Then again if you have any ideas of places to be looking I'm all ears (eyes).

Views: 366

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What is your area of expertise? What kind of job are you looking for?
Unfortunately I am a journalist, five years in tv, seven in print and a couple of years freelancing for People magazine. The pickings are slim everywhere for my profession so I'm actually not surprised that I can't find work as a reporter, but I thought public relations/media liason positions would be more readily available. I guess not.
Are you looking to stay in Albuquerque? There are more opportunities (and more people hunting for them, so make sure you've pointed out what makes you unique in your resume) in larger markets. Joining the national PRSA (Public Relations Society of America) would get you hooked into the job network at least, locally the job market gets really tight, the same three jobs seem to rotate around every six or eight months.

Sophie's right, it is a lot about who you know, especially out here. If you can, start attending state and regional PRSA Conferences (which are great places to get your networking groove on). Isn't the MarCom mixer coming up soon?
Rod,

For local jobs, sending out resumes won't get you far. You need to meet people in person and develop a quick rapport. Most people get jobs here by knowing somebody- since you're out of state your first step is making sure somebody knows you. Maybe some DCRer will have a lead for you ;-)
Sophie is right. In my 30+ years of employment, I have always been hired through networking. I have never gotten a job from answering ads.