Vincent Lowry is the author of "Dreams Reign Supreme," a collection of short stories and poetry. He is releasing a nonfiction book, "E-Author," to aid authors in publishing their books (traditional and self publishing). His books are available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Why did you start writing?

I started writing because I had stories I wanted to tell. I've always loved the creative process of bringing characters and scenes to life.

Why are you still writing?

I'm still writing for the same purpose I started writing. I still have stories that need to come out. I also like helping authors, so that keeps me motivated too.

What's your favorite venue(s) to hear/read poetry and writing in the Albuquerque area?

One of my favorite spots is a little bookstore near The Flying Star in Corrales. It's a perfect place to discover new authors.

Do you consider yourself to be a genre writer, mainstream writer, slam poet, literary writer, cowboy poet, etc.? Why?

No, and I realize that might work against me. I delve into all genres because I enjoy the challenge. If I have an idea or character that is well formed in my head, I will write it out no matter what genre works best. I won't try to force it in a category that doesn't fit.

What is your writing process like? Do you start with an image, concept or phrase? Do you write from beginning to end or in pieces?

My writing starts with a person or scene in my mind that seems interesting and needs exploring. I write stories from the beginning to the end (I cannot do the reverse, but I know some authors who do for the purpose of plot development).

Are there certain subjects you find yourself drawn to?

Right now it's nonfiction. I enjoy great biographies on interesting people. It's pretty cool reading something that seems out of this world and telling yourself, "This really happened!"

Who are your influences, and how have they impacted you?

Carl Sagan and Stephen King. They couldn't be more different in terms of their personalities, but both were storytellers. Sagan used science; King used fiction. They taught me to pay attention to the details and to be persistent.

What is your profession? Does it help or interfere with your writing?

Well, by day it's finance. At night it's author and moderator. I enjoy writing as much as I do helping authors. Because I'm using the right and left sides of my brain, this division between math and English works out for me. I'm not exhausted after 10 hours of it.

What advice would you offer to new writers?

Write if you love doing it. End of story. If you don't like it, spend your time doing something that brings more fulfillment to your life. You'll be far happier.

Views: 62

Comment

You need to be a member of Duke City Fix to add comments!

Join Duke City Fix

Connect with Us!

Regular Features

• "Sunday Poetry" with The Ditch Rider

Johnny_Mango

• Daily Photo by Dee

• "Morning Fix" with Adelita, Hettie, Phil_0 and Masshole in Fringecrest

DCF Flickr Photos



items in Duke City Fix More Duke City Fix photos

Latest Activity

DCMc liked Dee Cohen's blog post ABQ Pics: Heaven & Earth
14 minutes ago
Kristin Diana Cunnar posted a status
"Old Town Plaza next to outdoor Gazebo would be a great place for someone to start up a Tai Chi or Yoga class. What do you think?"
1 hour ago
Kristin Diana Cunnar updated their profile
1 hour ago
Profile Iconmgonz, JD Manning, Kristin Diana Cunnar and 2 more joined Duke City Fix
3 hours ago

© 2014   Created by MarketPlace Media.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service